The Brain/Pharma Ads

After reviewing the 3-Dimensional brain tour on PBS.com, I do not think that I would change too many of my behaviors in order to improve brain function. Consider me a stubborn person, but in terms of physical abuse I am well aware that things I do in the real world may wind up affecting my brain function, and those are things I take into consideration before partaking in any activity. From a mental point of view, I think that it is our jobs to be able to recognize problems as we develop throughout our lives and be able to fix them accordingly.

Viewing the anatomy of the brain definitely helped me understand a little more about it as a whole. I am somewhat clueless as to the specific of the brain in terms of the names of the different areas etc. My experience with studying the brain is very limited to its relation to the art world in terms of there being a creative side and a more analytical side. I am also aware of basic functions and the idea that the brain is made up of tiny functioning pieces that control specific areas of the body.

I think that this website is an excellent example of the “truth becoming visible.” For me personally, I am a much more visual learner and descriptions given in this way have a resonating affect on me. I wish there were presentations such as this given when I was coming up in school. I am also happy that this tour was made available on a website such as PBS where students can browse without having to deal with scholarly in-depth scientific descriptions and theories.

For my pharmecutical ad, I chose to analyze a magazine ad published by Claritin, a popular anti-allergy medication. At the top of the advertisement, Claritin does not directly analyze the symptoms the medicine is meant to cure, but references them by describing the end result. The ad reads, “Breath Freely with Claritin,” which would allow most viewers to believe that the medicine is intended to relieve a stuffy nose. However, the ad does not immediately state that this congestion is the result of allergies.

It isn’t until you get down the the description which states that Claritin provides, “24-hour relief indoors and out……….proven to keep you as alert and foces as some without allergies.” Along with that small description, the box pictures on the left side of the ad displays the word “Allergy” in bold red letters.

The only side effect mentioned in the ad is drowsiness. However, Claritin itself is intended to prevent it, and even indirectly promises consumers that fact. At the bottom of the ad there is another line which states, “Nothing works stronger than Claritin.”

Leave a Reply

